Latest Post

Hero Xoom 125R – What do we know so far Yamaha Nmax 155 – What we can expect
Guide To RTO Codes in India

To assist you in comprehending the numerous codes used by different RTOs, we have put together A Comprehensive Guide to RTO Codes in India.

RTO in India: An Overview Of RTO Codes

The Regional Transport Offices (RTOs) in India utilize a set of alphanumeric characters known as RTO codes for RTOS to designate various states, districts, and regions. When registering a new bike or changing ownership of an old one, these codes are necessary.

Understanding RTO Codes in India

In India, RTO codes consist of two letters and two digits. The following two digits represent the district or region, and the state is represented by the first two letters. Bangalore, for instance, has the RTO number KA-01, where KA stands for the state of Karnataka and 01 for the Bangalore district.

We have included the RTO codes for each state and union territory in India below. The RTO code for automobiles registered in each state will be the same as that of their respective areas.

Union Territory/StateRTO CodeUnion Territory/StateRTO Code
Andhra PradeshAPAssam AS
Arunachal PradeshARBiharBR
Andaman & Nicobar IslandsANChandigarhCH 
Dadra & Nagar HaveliDNDaman & DiuDD
Himachal PradeshHPJharkhandJH 
Jammu & KashmirJKKarnatakaKA
KeralaKLMaharashtra MH
Madhya PradeshMPManipurMN 
LakshadweepLDNational Capital Territory of Delhi DL
Nagaland NLPuducherry PY
Tamil Nadu TNTripuraTR
UttarakhandUKUttar PradeshUP

RTO Codes: An Essential Component For RTO In India

For the registration and ownership transfer of a vehicle in India, the RTO codes for RTOS are necessary. It is impossible to finish the documentation needed for registration and ownership transfer without these codes. It’s also crucial to remember that RTO codes are specific to each RTO, meaning that a given code can only be applied to one RTO.

What Does An RTO Do?

In India, several facets of transport falling under their purview are managed and regulated by Regional Transport Offices (RTOs). Among the principal roles of RTOs are the following:

  • Licenses and registration for vehicles.
  • Granting licenses and administering driving exams.
  • Getting road taxes and fees collected.
  • Enforcing traffic safety laws and regulations.
  • Checking that automobiles adhere to safety regulations.
  • Looking into and punishing traffic infractions and accidents.

Which Services Does The RTO Offer?

The following are the services offered in India by Regional Transport Offices (RTOs):

1. Vehicle Registration – RTOs handle new bike registration and license plate issuance. In addition, they create duplicate registration documents and transfer ownership of automobiles.

2. Driving Exams And Licenses – RTOs administer driving tests and grant licenses to qualified applicants. Additionally, they upgrade and renew licenses.

3. Road Taxes And Fees – RTOs are responsible for gathering these amounts for a range of vehicle kinds.

4. Enforcement Of Traffic Laws – RTOs are responsible for enforcing traffic laws, which include alcohol limits, seatbelt usage, helmet use, and speed limits.

5. Inspections Of Vehicles – RTOs check automobiles to make sure they meet safety regulations and provide commercial and electric vehicles with fitness certificates.

6. Road Traffic Accident And Violation Investigation And Prosecution – RTOs look into and punish traffic accidents and infractions, including overloading, reckless driving, and unlawful parking.

These are a few of the essential services that RTOs in India offer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *