Latest Post

Two Wheeler Sales April 2024: Honda Motorcycles Beats Hero MotoCorp Kawasaki Ninja ZX-4RR to be launched in India soon

Different Types Of Colored Highway Milestones

Have you noticed colorful landmarks along the road? They vary their color code in different places, such as driving on the highway; these milestones constantly change their color code. So why did they change their color scheme?

Milestones are a type of stone that shows us how far we are from our destination. Unfortunately, there are no identical landmarks on all Indian roads: The color code differs for highways such as the National Highway, the State Highway, district streets, and village roads.

Types Of Colored Highway Milestones In India

The Yellow Stripe On The Milestone

You know you’re on a national highway if you observe a yellow stripe on the upper section while walking or driving. This means that yellow-painted milestones are only required on India’s national highways.

  • NATIONAL HIGHWAY SYSTEM (NHS) – These are India’s major highways connecting all cities and states. The Indian government maintains the National Highway (NHAI). The National Highway is more than 70,000 kilometers long and forms the North-South-East-West Corridor (NS-EW corridor) and the Golden Quadrilateral (GQ).
  • NORTH-SOUTH CORRIDOR – Runs from Srinagar, Jammu, and Kashmir to Kanyakumari, India’s southernmost point. This road is 4000 kilometers long.
  • THE EAST-WEST CORRIDOR – connects Porbandar with Silchar in Assam and is 3300 kilometers long.
  • THE GOLDEN QUADRILATERAL (GQ) – highway network connects four Indian metropolises: Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, and Kolkata. GQ is 5846 kilometers long in total.

The Green Strip On The Milestone

When you notice a green strip on the side of the road, it implies you’re on a State Highway rather than a National Highway. In India, green-colored milestones are used when the state constructs or manufactures highways. These roads are maintained completely by the state.

  • SH (STATE HIGHWAY) – The State Highway is roughly 150,000 kilometers long and is administered by the states. It is used to enter each state and to connect cities.

A Black, Blue, Or White Strip On A Milestone

You know you’ve arrived in a significant city or area when you notice a sign with a black, blue, or white strip on the roadside. At the same time, the maintenance of these roads falls under the district’s jurisdiction. Therefore, these roads are maintained exclusively by the city administration.

The Orange Colour Stripe On The Milestone

You’ve arrived in the village when you see a milestone or landmark with an orange stripe on the milestone. This stripe is also a representation of the Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana.

According to this article, several milestones of varying colors are located on highways to symbolize the destination from a specific location. While riding a bike on the national highway, you must follow the lane discipline rules in India. That is true whether we are traveling on a state highway, a national highway, or in a hamlet, for example.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *